skip to Main Content

Rome Foundation Board

Jan Tack, MD, PhDJan Tack, MD, PhD, RFF | President

Professor of Medicine
Head, Department of Clinical and Experimental Medicine
Head of Clinic, Department of Gastroenterology
University Hospital KU Leuven
Translational Research Center for Gastrointestinal Disorders (TARGID)
Leuven, Belgium

Douglas A. Drossman, MD, RFF | President Emeritus and COO

Professor Emeritus of Medicine and Psychiatry
UNC Center for Functional GI and Motility Disorders
University of North Carolina
Center for Education and Practice of Biopsychosocial Patient Care and
Drossman Gastroenterology
Chapel Hill, NC, USA

Giovanni Barbara, MD, RFF

Professor of Medicine
Department of Medical and Surgical Science
University of Bologna
Bologna, Italy






William D. Chey, MD, AGAF, FACG, FACP, RFF

Timothy T. Nostrant Professor of Gastroenterology & Nutrition Sciences
Director, GI Nutrition & Behavioral Wellness Program
Co-Director, Michigan Bowel Control Program
Division of Gastroenterology
University of Michigan Health System
Ann Arbor, MI, USA




Laurie Keefer, PhD, RFF

Professor of Medicine and Psychiatry
Icahn School of Medicine at Mount Sinai
New York, NY, USA







Samuel Nurko, MD, MPHSamuel Nurko, MD, MPH, RFF

Professor of Pediatrics
Harvard Medical School
Center for Motility and Functional Bowel Disorders
Boston Children’s Hospital
Boston, Massachusetts, United States




Magnus Simrén

Magnus Simrén, MD, PhD, RFF

Professor of Gastroenterology
University of Gothenburg
Senior Consultant, Department of Internal Medicine
Sahlgrenska University Hospital
Gothenburg, Sweden

Lin Chang, MD, RFF

Professor of Medicine
Oppenheimer Center for Neurobiology of Stress
Division of Digestive Diseases
David Geffen School of Medicine at University of California, Los Angeles
Los Angeles, CA, USA





Xiucai Fang, MD, RFF

Professor of Medicine
Department of Gastroenterology
Peking Union Medical College Hospital
Chinese Academy of Medical Sciences and Peking Union Medical College
Beijing, China





Brian E. Lacy, Ph.D., M.D., FACG

Brian E. Lacy, MD, PhD, FACG, RFF

Senior Associate Consultant
Mayo Clinic
Jacksonville, FL, USA







Max J. Schmulson W., MD

Max J. Schmulson W., MD, RFF

Professor of Medicine
Facultad de Medicina
Universidad Nacional Autónoma de México (UNAM)
Laboratorio de Hígado, Páncreas y Motilidad (HIPAM)
Unidad de Investigación en Medicina Experimental
Mexico City, D.F., Mexico


Ami Sperber, MD, MSPH, RFF

Emeritus Professor of Medicine
Faculty of Health Sciences
Ben-Gurion University of the Negev
Beer-Sheva, Israel

Former Members of the Board

John Kellow, MD

John Kellow, MD, FRACP
New South Wales, Australia

Nicholas J. Talley, MD, PhD
Callaghan, Australia

William E. Whitehead, PhD
Chapel Hill, NC, USA

Enrico Corazziari, MD
Rome, Italy

Fernando Azpiroz, MD, PhD
Barcelona, Spain

W. Grant Thompson, MD
Ottowa, Canada

Robin C. Spiller, MD, MSC
Nottingham, England

Michel Delvaux, MD, PhD
Nancy, France

Back To Top